Settings¶
All room settings can be accessed through the editor sidebar in the rooms tab.
Open/close room¶
By default, when a room is created (through opening a document or recording), the room is not open.
To open the room and allow others to join, open the sidebar in the editor, go to the rooms tab, and click Start room.
Additionally, you can close the room by clicking the red End room button at the bottom of the rooms tab.
Ending a room
Note that when you end a room, all connected users (except the owner) will be kicked out of the document or recording.
Room code¶
The room code is used for joining a room. Clicking on the code will display a dialog with information on how to join the room. This can be useful for displaying to a class for students to join.
Additionally, clicking on the copy button will put the room code in your clipboard to paste elsewhere.
Display room code¶
When checked, the room code will be displayed in the upper right hand corner of the editor. The code is displayed on all connected clients that belong to the owner's user. Clicking on the displayed code will display a dialog with information on how to join the room.
Show disconnected¶
When checked, the user list in the sidebar will show all clients, including ones that are no longer connected to the room. Unchecking it will hide disconnected clients.
Force camera¶
When enabled, the force camera setting restricts clients ability to freely navigate the document. Their view of the document is locked to that of the owner. When the owner navigates the document or recording, the view for all clients will be updated to match that of the owner.
When set to none, all clients, regardless of role are able to freely navigate the document or recording (scroll, pan, etc).
When set to all, all clients, regardless of role, will have their view of the document or recording fixed to that of the owner.
When set to viewers, all clients with the role viewer, will have their view of the document or recording fixed to that of the owner.
Force viewport¶
When enabled, the force viewport setting will set the aspect ratio of clients to match that of the owner's screen. If the aspect ratio of the client's screen is not the same as owner's screen, black bars will be displayed above or below the editor to make the aspect ratio of the editor the same as that of the owner's screen.
When set to none, all clients, regardless of role will not have their viewport matched to the owner's device
When set to all, all clients, regardless of role, will have their viewport set to match the owner's screen.
When set to viewers, all clients with the role viewer, will have their viewport set to match the owner's screen.
Note
Forcing the viewport helps ensure that the portion of the document or recording visible on client's screen will match what is visible on the owner's screen. Otherwise, for screens with very different aspect ratio's, the same scroll position will not display the same portion of the document or recording.
Default role¶
The default role setting dictates what the initial role will be of any new clients who join the room.
Note
Changing the default role will not change the role of any connected clients. It only applies to newly connected clients.
Managing users¶
In an open room, at the bottom of the editor sidebar in the rooms tab, a list of clients is displayed.
Clicking on an individual client will display options for the user.
Note
If you (the owner) have connected to a room multiple times, the other clients will have a star next to their user.
When applicable, you can change the name of connected clients. If a client is connecting using their Notaker account, you cannot change their name.
At the bottom of the client's settings, clicking the Remove button will kick them from the room. That client will not be able to reconnect to the room. They are, however, able to connect to future rooms (with the correct room code). You can un-kick a kicked user by first enabling the Show disconnected setting, clicking on the client in question, and clicking the Allow button.