Recording¶
Recordings allow you to capture your actions within the editor including but not limited to creating and manipulating assets, cursor movements, and navigation within the document (scrolling, panning, etc). Recording controls are only available to the room owner — other users will see a passive indicator when a recording is active, but cannot start, pause, stop, or discard it.
Recording Structure¶
Recordings in Notaker are broken into segments. When you start a recording, a new recording and segment is created. Pausing a recording will stop the current segment, and then resuming it will start a new segment. Your actions inbetween segments aren't recorded but will be reflected at the beginning of the next segment.
Stopping a recording will close out the entire recording and you will either need to resume that recording or start a new one.
Recording actions¶
The recordings toolbar is located in the upper right hand corner of the editor. Hovering over it, or clicking on it will open it. You can pin the recording toolbar open by clicking on the pin button on the left side of the toolbar.
Start¶
To start a recording, click on the play button in the recording toolbar. If a recording is already active, the play button will not be visible.
Pause¶
With a recording running, clicking on the pause button will pause the recording but will keep the recording itself active. After clicking on the pause button, the play button will appear which allows you to resume recording.
Stop¶
Clicking on the stop button will finish out a recording. This action can be performed from a paused or currently running recording. After stopping a recording, you can only continue it by resuming it.
After stopping a recording, playback is available almost instantly and you can share the recording for viewing.
Leaving the editor or closing the tab while a recording is active will prompt you to stop and finalize the recording before exiting.
Discard¶
Clicking the discard button will delete the active recording. This action can be performed from a paused or currently running recording. This action cannot be undone. The discarded recording will not be able to be resumed or restored.
Audio¶
By default, audio will be captured by Notaker during a recording if there is a audio device available. You can disable audio recording by clicking on the microphone button in the recording toolbar. Audio can be disabled and enabled before or during a recording.
Managing Recordings¶
In progress and finished (stopped) recordings can be managed in the side bar. The sidebar can be opened through the sidebar button in the upper right hand corner.
Here you can delete entire recordings, segments within a recording, rename a recording, or share a recording.